Journey 129: Can it be Christmas without you?

As everyone have been celebrating Christmas eve tonight and exchanging gifts as well as pleasantries, the families of the 10 nursing students who perished is mourning their sudden and entirely unacceptable death on the eventful morn of December 19, 2010. They are joined by Jayjay Gadduang who succumbs hours after he was treated in the hospital in Tuguegarao City.

As I had been trying to understand the meaning of Christmas all the same, I felt at a loss of words and definition since I am with no parents myself already, both my dad (2004) and mum (2009) passed away of cardiac arrest. Both of them died peacefully under my watch but still Christmases after such event in 2005 and in 2010 will never be the same. This is the same feelings these families are into right now. I just cannot imagine how their lives will ever be after this tragedy.

While we are all in good cheer, let us not forget that our brothers who have passed away have been kindling a great Christmas with their families, loved ones and friends before this tragedy happens. Most of them plans to celebrate it with their families, friends and loved ones, reunions were planned, gimmicks were scheduled, thanksgiving were arranged for a successful taking of the board exams. All these will never be complete without them in their midst and I share in the pains, grief and sorrow of those whom they have left behind. Let us all remember them in our prayers and while we are feeling the essence of Christmas, let our love, peace and understanding be extended to the families who loss cannot be measure up or ever be condoled.

As we remember them, let me share you a poem by Emily Dickenson which she wrote in her lifetime.

GOING TO HEAVEN!

GOING to heaven!
I don’t know when,
Pray do not ask me how,–
Indeed, I’m too astonished
To think of answering you!
Going to heaven!–
How dim it sounds!
And yet it will be done
As sure as flocks go home at night
Unto the shepherd’s arm!

Perhaps you’re going too!
Who knows?
If you should get there first,
Save just a little place for me
Close to the two I lost!
The smallest “robe” will fit me,
And just a bit of “crown”;
For you know we do not mind our dress
When we are going home.

I’m glad I don’t believe it,
For it would stop my breath,
And I’d like to look a little more
At such a curious earth!
I am glad they did believe it
Whom I have never found
Since the mighty autumn afternoon
I left them in the ground.

by: Emily Dickinson (1830-1886)

Rest in peace all of you brothers. Make your journey be light with our love, affection, respect, admiration, peace and friendships.

Categories: Journeys | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

