Journey 140: My becoming a JAYCEE

Being a Jaycee is easy but becoming an effective, sound, participative, dynamic and active Jaycee and a citizen of wherever we may be is harder than one ever thought of. I am grateful of the invitation made by our Godfather, JCI Senator Tony Cerilles whom I respected and admired. Becoming a Jaycee then became a challenge for me as I thought it is and was for most of our members in the organization. Becoming one is something of a sustained calling to serve mankind above ourselves, respecting human rights over protecting ours selfishly and overcoming our greed for power to service to humanity. These among many are what, I believed, can make one an effective Jaycee.

My Jaycee year started in 2007 just prior to our hosting of the JCI Philippines Area V Area Convention. I was elected LO Secretary to LO Pres. Ace William Cerilles. It was during our Jaycee year that we have make our LO Chapter garnered the number 1 in the Area V Timiong Awards and number 5 in the JCIPEA rankings for the entire country, which a year before us, was ranked 40. We hosted the best AreaCon in so far I am concerned and that defined my being a Jaycee. I have experienced to work and toil tirelessly for the AreaCon in 2008. I heard NP Rip Lesaca commenting that our AreaCon was in comparison, similar to a NatCon already. That humbled us, including me, to no ends.

Since then, I had been involved in trainings, many opportunities to train myself under JCI gurus like JCI Senators Menen Aracid, Gleendo Dasmarinas, Jose Benidicto, Darwin Manubag and others. I had also become the Regional Training Director for JCI Philippines for Western Mindanao under ATD Emma Devarela.

Becoming a Jaycee then is like being a servant to all. What struck me the most in the enormous tasks to be done by young professionals everywhere which has to be going, which has to be pushed forward and which has to be universally supported.

With this, I would like to share with you the song of Daughtry “What about now?”, it is what defines me as a Jaycee now. Let us act together for others, our community, and our humanity.

Categories: Journeys | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Journey 140: My becoming a JAYCEE

  1. Great post. Iâ??m a regular visitor of your web site and appreciate you taking the time to maintain the nice site. I will be a regular visitor for a long time.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

