Travels 139: Guangxi Talking Robot

As part of our exposure to how China prepares its younger generation for a more challenging future, we went to visit the Guangxi Science and Technology Museum. I can say by now that the visit to the Guangxi Science and Technology Museum has impressed me so much that even until today, I kept coming back to the Guangxi talking robot that they have shown us upon arriving at the grand museum.

Together the two country delegation of the Philippines and Cambodia, we went on to check some of the wildest and coolest technology and science driven showcase of the Guangxi Science and Technology Museum. We left our school on board a bus and then we had a journey that is considerably back to the future!

Upon arriving at the museum, we are greeted by Chinese-speaking Guangxi talking robot, the first I saw in my life, not in Japan but in China. I was in Japan and had never had the chance to see a talking robot though they have in abundance of those but I am impressed of how the Guangxi Science and Technology Museum has made this impression greet its visitors.

I also have the chance to try on the bicycle that has, not cylindrical wheel but of squares. I thought it will never run when pedalled but it does! I am addicted to it and so much of it that I had to re-run the bicycle once again. Also, I had the chance to try on a virtual magnifying glass that gives you clear-cut maps of China, much more clearly and effectively than google maps.

One of the fondest try I had on the Guangxi Science and Technology Museum was to play virtual football ala Azkals. It was worth it though I seldom hit a goal.

Upon going down from the 4th floor of the Guangxi Science and Technology Museum, I chanced of old Chinese couple who also see the museum themselves. I asked them how they found the museum and they just smiled. I just told them that I want a photo with them instead and shook hands to impress upon them that their generation has indeed embrace modernity of today, very much the same China I saw and learned, much more, loved.

Categories: China, Guangxi, Nanning City, Travels | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

