Travels 145: Walking at the Pastrano Hanging Bridge

As I was on my way to the City of Oroquieta, I was exchanging SMS with my dear friend Jeffrey Almonte, the son of then Oroquieta City Mayor George Almonte who now sits as Congressman in the Philippine House of Representatives. I was asking for directions where to sightsee while I am in their home city and he mentioned to me about the hanging bridge.

It was a lazy Sunday and while I was uploading some videos on my Youtube channel, I left the place where I stayed for the night and heads for the City Plaza and then eventually to the hanging footbridge. It was market day so I saw the usual convergence of cityfolks trying to buy after hearing Sunday Mass nearby. When I came across the footbridge, it was only then that I knew it is called the Ceriaco Pastrano Hanging bridge.

The Pastrano Hanging Bridge is one of the scenic tourist destination among visitors in Oroquieta and it crosses the Layawan River that opens up to the sea. It connects Barangay Taboc Norte and Poblacion II in the city.

People use the Pastrano Hanging Bridge for their daily lives. I saw a boy who bought around 5 kilos of rice to bring for his family and I asked him that I will take his photo and he just simply smiled and I saw the most hopeful face of a boy who might be the next leader in their city.

Pastrano Hanging Bridge is 75 m long and 20 m high over the Layawan River. I was asking when this hanging footbridge built and how old was it, I unfortunately was not able to get the right answer from those locals whom I asked.

Categories: Misamis Occidental, Oroquieta City, Travels | Tags: , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Travels 145: Walking at the Pastrano Hanging Bridge

  1. i love how to took the photos… will definitely use this as my guide when I visit Oroquieta.

    Onga noh? I assume 90’s cya built…

    thanks for sharing Doc Wends… 🙂

  2. Thanks alot Mervz. I am not using DSLR po, just my ever reliable Olympus point and shot camera. haha. When you wanna go there, tell me so I will come back. Andami pa di ko napuntahan along the places na nadaanan ko and I wanna go back to get to these places.

    I would believe it is 90’s pero siguro mas older pa.

  3. I really love the pictures and the fantastic article, Wends! You should be Natgeo’s new off-the-beaten path traveler of the year! Godspeed, my friend!

    • haha thank you so much Jeff. You are one kind of a friend whom I keep since our days studying in Pagadian and I am happy to have remained closely connected with you and the family. Natgeo? hehe di ako papasa dun, amateur lang ako haha.

      I really did enjoyed my stay in Oroquieta City and will surely come back one of these days.

  4. i used to play on this bridge when i was a kid during d 80’s….

    • Thanks Nestor for your comments. Yes, I saw children playing on the bridge even until today. This landmark has very well placed itself in the lives of many residents in the area.

      I am happy to have been there and blog about it. God bless you always.

  5. i really really miz those days when were on that bridge.. ( hanging bridge ) me and kenneth my baby., it was a very very challenging and excited to walk with it. i love you oroquieta city. hope to come back soon…………

    • Thank you sa comment neo po. Now i knew that the hanging bridge also is a romantic place. I knew this bridge has a pivotal role po sa lives ng mga taga-Oroquieta. What I love the most about it is its own massive influence on that lives of the residence throughout time.

      Happy ako na nakapunta dito at nakapagblog. Salamat po sa comment.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

