Travels 173: Negara Brunei Darussalam!

Having been into academic researches while still pursuing my PhD back in 2008, I had been to places I can never even imagine visiting and my second foreign travel was to the Sultanate of Brunei Darussalam. Just two months after I had been to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia for a conference, I am now yet again, on the road towards the oil-rich sultanate.

My travel to Brunei has been one that transformed my myopic perspective of ASEAN. It opened my eyes to what the riches people in ASEAN do every day. I had been impressed. I met new friends whom I still get in touch until today.

I went to Brunei Darussalam to present my research on the Ethics of test construction among teachers in basic education which was widely received by many academics. I came to Brunei to attend the International Conference on Education (ICE2008) hosted by the Universiti Brunei Darussalam.

It was the only travel I made in my life that has made me made friendships with an Iraqi based in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia as well to a famous Bruneian pop singer Hill Zaini. Hill and I continually communicate until today whom I admired for his humble disposition and ebullient personality.

It was the only travel I made also in my life that had me taste, even for a souvenir photo how to dress up like an ordinary Bruneian and I looked like a Sultan.

Categories: Brunei Darussalam, Travels | Tags: , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Travels 173: Negara Brunei Darussalam!

  1. kuya ang gnda ng last picture! hehe

  2. I love the last pic, doc! It’s nice to have the opportunity to travel while doing work 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

