Travels 223: The Balanced LIFE

Perhaps, one of the best ways to enjoy life is to pursue jaunts that bring us to places of our dreams, dream bigger than ourselves or continually chase our dreams after every sound sleep. I choose to enjoy my life through the many travels I pursue, both in the context of journeying through life with the aid of those others surrounding me and in the many travels I take which brings me to places I have never been, thereby earning for myself the opportunity to understand life that way it should be understood under such circumstance.

On a recent weekend trip to Dahilayan in the Province of Bukidnon, I came across rocks stacked together resembling a perfect balance, very similar to the ones we find in Zen gardens, only that these stones were placed near the dirt road I took. I fancied at the very sight of the balanced stones, simple rocks that are so imperfect, imbalance, raw and unorthodox yet places its meaningful existence to the very life we live each day.

The balanced life we seek each day is one that continually places ourselves, our soul and our dreams together in the scenario of giving. We give back to the family who love us by also showing concern and care. We give back to the lover who embraces us by also showing trust, confidence and fidelity above the virtues of loyalty, dependability and hope. We give back to the community who helped mould us by also caring for what our collective interests are above our own self-centered interests. We give back to those who read us by also ensuring that we take the extra effort at writing and taking every possible way to take on photography, capturing all essences, both practical and aesthetic, to promote the places we have been to and writing about. We give back inspiration because we were inspired too. We give back cheerfulness to the sullen spirit because, at one time, we are cheered up too.

The balanced life is one that fosters care, trust, sincerity, hope and inspiration. We balance our lives because we care more. We balance our lives because we dream more and is driven to achieve more, not only for ourselves but for those who came to stay with us. We balance our lives because we touched the lives of others because we too, were touched by simple and ordinary people, even strangers to awaken us to be better individuals.

Surely, as we seek out those who can balance our lives through love that one gains more because of openness and trust. We seek out those who can balance our lives because we places ourselves in the ordinary rocks, soiled and heavy with burdens but when stacked up, reaches to the heavens and braces for the winds. We may, at the end of the day, remains soiled, heavy with burdens and an ordinary rock, but through the dedication of our pursuits to what makes us truly happy that we get to be the more beautiful formations that promote unity, cohesiveness, grace and peace.

Categories: Bukidnon, Dahilayan, Travels | Tags: , , , , , , , | 40 Comments

Post navigation

40 thoughts on “Travels 223: The Balanced LIFE

  1. You’re a very prolific write are you???
    I like how you describe balance..
    In this life, we need balance on everything..
    A little less or a little too much has consequences.
    Nice Post! 🙂

  2. I remember how in Korean culture, they stack rocks into a huge pile so that they can make a wish. I wonder who made this stack and what they intended by it… It’s such a curious pile! 😀 Great essay, Wendell. 🙂

    • Thanks Michelle. Was rather amazed at how they stacked the rocks along the dirt road going to the Dahilayan Gardens. I stopped by and took a photo of it and enjoyed a good reflection while I had the chance, sitting there and took on a great inspiration taking a photo.

      I believed they have the same intention in doing this, it symbolizes purity of heart and a healing moment to seek out inspiration as one is inspired by it.

  3. Great how you taught us the balance of life. Very figurative and meaningful. I love the idea of stocking stones pero masmaganda how you interpreted it. Ang sarap sa pakiramdam basahin neto. 🙂

  4. I’m just amazed how you put your words altogether. We all want a well balanced life, it is indeed a well balanced and great post! =)

  5. Inspiring thoughts here, made me reflect on how I can I get the so-called balanced life…

  6. Nice blog……. its refreshing to read this kind of ”inspirational blog” in the midst of our dark days.. thanks gwen

    • Dem, salamat sa comment. Thanks for being refreshed while reading this post. I have tried my best to give back to those who read me, I too, is inspired by your courage and the fight u are currently waging, for our country and people!

      God bless you more

  7. hmmm. from rocks. you arrived to a great write-up, 🙂

  8. Postcard perfect! You know we have a meme for postcard worthy photos, you might want to join sometime 🙂 (www.postcard-perfect.com).

    “We balance our lives because we care more.” – so true!

  9. i love balancing. ever since i was young it’s been my game.

    but balancing my lifestyle, my job and my wants in life is kinda hard. FAIL.

    • thanks po! I pray that you will be able to find deeper meaning into life and living as we speak. Balancing life is one that can be made possible by giving back. I too find it harder to balance.

  10. great thought doki. 🙂

  11. you are indeed a writer…i need to have a balanced life. =)

  12. Love this post. I’ve actually fallen from my balance so I really need this.

  13. This is very true. BALANCE is very important in life and it is also one of the essential principle of visual arts and design – may it be in photography, graphic design, display or dancing.

    In an old version of a Karate Kid movie, the value of “balance” was also taught.

    Anyway, kapag maka-punta ako sa bukid, masubukan din ngang gumawa ng pinagpatong-patong na bato. Makagawa kaya ako ng ganon na hindi natutmba? ^_^

  14. I think its now time to make ur own photoblog. good insights.

  15. Oh, how come I didn’t see those rocks when we went to Dahilayan last month? Nevertheless, I love the article. Great perspective.

  16. I was amazed how these simple rocks turned out to be an inspiration to travellers like you along the road .You’ll really think of something and come up with a good writings that might inspires others in some way or another . Balanced life is indeed needed what we needed..

  17. sometimes when we try so hard to reach our destination we forget what the road was like. your post reminds me to stop and appreciate the greater things that are happening around me. thank you!

    • Leah, thank you too for your comments. Yes, we need to constantly remind ourselves of the beauty of the dirt road for after all, it is through this unassuming ways that we see the beauty of life and gain peace.

  18. Wow, a very insightful post. I liked what you said about balance and giving back. A balanced life is not just about being able to juggle the various aspects of our lives. It’s also about sharing our life with others and being a part of something bigger than ourselves. Thanks for this post.

    I found your blog through the Bukidnon tag, by the way. I’m in love with that place! I’ve never been to Dahilayan though. Maybe I’ll drop by next time.

    • Thank you so much for your generous comments. I am rather touched by it. Anyhow, there are certain moments we need to put to pieces for us to be a better person whose commitment is not only for ourselves but for others.

      surely, Bukidnon is one destination that brings in peace. I have found mine when I went there and remains captivated by it.

  19. Pingback: Travels 224: In tranquillity we sail on « Journeys and Travels

  20. how timely… i needed to read something about balancing the different aspects of my life these days… and i love the part when we need to touch other people’s lives because others have touched us with theirs. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

