Journeys 248: The mundane makes sense

When we think that life must be complicated to make sense, we are wrong. Ordinary lives live by ordinary people are what makes sense in this world made complex by our own innuendoes and our own definition of how one must successfully live one’s life. Sometimes and sadly too, the barometer for a successful life is to get a good paying career, great and rich friends and those that brings us fortune and pride. In a society so constricted to the imposed definition of how living is in the context of success is, we strive to fit in at the utmost prejudice of our own humanity, individuality and our own destiny.

The moment I saw this man patiently waiting for fishes to took on his bait, I saw contentment and humility. Never the assuming kind, this man simply gazes through the sea water below the wharf and patiently waiting for the fishes to take the bait. He does not have a fishing rod, all the amenities that would have made his daily trips to the wharf something of a pride, ease and fulfilment. What he has is his patience, his ordinary life and one that drives him, his hope and dreams.

I did not have the courage to ask for his name and his stature in life but managed to smile at him when he noticed I took photograph of him doing his daily trade wherein, according to fellow fishermen by the wharf, the catch will be their meal by dinnertime. I am humbled at what I saw for I realized that what I have in life pales in comparison when gleaned upon their lives because for what I lacked in patience, they have in abundance, for what I lacked in determination, they have in utmost disposal and for what I lacked in humility, they live by it each day.

This man taught me one virtue that even in the mundane lives we choose to live each day, we make a patient journey towards fulfilment, one that is not measured by money or the wad of cash we keep in our pockets. It is rather measured on our responses to daily challenges of living and genuine service to men and society. In it, as what I saw taught me that even the mundane makes sense as opposed to what we made to appear in a society too myopic on its own self-limiting definition of living and LIFE.

Categories: Journeys | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Journeys 248: The mundane makes sense

  1. i like the reflection doc!
    especially this statement “even in the mundane lives we choose to live each day, we make a patient journey towards fulfilment, one that is not measured by money or the wad of cash we keep in our pockets”

    • thank you James for your comments. I have had been reflecting on my life as I lived it and whether it gives me true meaning and fulfillment above all else. Thanks again for your affirmation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

