Travels 228: The most perfect sunrise

One of my dreams in life is to set foot on Angkor and watch in awe how the beauty of a sunrise can forever be etched on my memory and in my heart. I have gathered myself to pursue the rare opportunity emotionally as I embarked on a journey that brings back a life that I missed since I have been working where I am now. I have left so much of my life that I forgot it until I have slowly found my way back and getting back at life I used to is one of the precious year-ender journeys I took.

Battling hard emotionally, with a bruised heart and a pained mind, I took off early morning with my Tuktuk driver Sothy to the famed Angkor Wat temples to see the sunrise. I left my hotel at 4:45am and we cruised through the alleyway and road leading to Angkor is rather cold and the dark dawn sky reminds me of my own incomplete humanity.

Upon reaching the steps of Angkor, having shown the ticket for the punchers and gatekeepers, I joined the throng of foreigners going to get a glimpse of the sunrise too. I just followed the steps and our steps are becoming more silent when we reach the clay-soiled path. I have never seen so many congregations of foreigners in one location, under the dark dawn sky and facing the most photographed Angkor Wat for the most perfect sunrise.

We are humanity in one under the skies of Angkor, we took on the beauty, the most perfect sunrise. I took on the courage to take the best vantage point and this is the beauty I have never seen but felt. The most perfect sunrise I have seen and felt now standing before the grand Angkor Wat is forever a journey I will always claim my own. It changed the way I see my life now and indeed, recaptured my life.

Categories: Cambodia, Siem Riep, Travels | Tags: , , , , , | 71 Comments

Post navigation

71 thoughts on “Travels 228: The most perfect sunrise

  1. nice shot, ang gaganda..kaso saan po ang angkor? hihihi

  2. Breathtaking!

  3. Continue the journey, Doc!

  4. donzkee

    nice! continue your dream! soar higher!

  5. beautiful shots! i wish i could take my pictures like that hehe

  6. Wow you have a nice photoshot you got… nice shots and place…

  7. You’ve been to so many places, I’m quite envious! That sunrise looks sooo sacred! I can almost imagine the awed silence among the people there. Can’t wait to go there too. πŸ™‚

    • Michelle, if only you are there too that wonderful morning, no one shouts, talk loudly but just waited patiently and take on the beauty of the temples as it is reflected on the pond. thanks sa comment po. Happy New Year Michelle.

  8. been wanting to do some traveling in Southeast Asia. Nice pictures of Angkor Wat

    • pack your bags now and then take on the travelling feet down the road. Ganda nga ng Angkor Wat po. I am blessed to be there on the day after christmas day.

  9. wow!!!! I want to visit angkor wat too! πŸ™‚ Oh how I wish.. Thanks for sharing this beautiful pictures!!

  10. what i saw was the sunset when i was there.. the sunrise is awesome doc.
    makes me think that in our life, after the darkness the sun will rise again.

    • that is the reflection I wanted to share bro which fortunately, you have understood. I am on my crossroads now and I saw an opportunity to build up the shattered pieces again. I am humbled by what I have seen and felt while out there in the dawn of my life.

      I hope to see you on the road my bro. You are one of those who continually inspired me on my journeys.

      Happy New Year Journeying James

  11. Breathtaking! Wishing I can go there though. Watch out pala, direct flights to Phnom Penh from Manila maybe this year or so. Yey! πŸ™‚

    • i think it is Siem Riep that Cebu Pac is planning to pursue. Yes, you can always be there. a great breather experience for me though which brought me back the best memories as the year 2011 ended for me and my travels.

      Salamat Bernie for the time we spent together in Marawi. You are an inspired travel blogger and your travels are one that evokes resolved in me to pursue mine too.

      Happy New Year

  12. Great post! Wish you more travels and fun. All the best to you and your blog. Happy 2012.

    koreandoll | miss angel

  13. one day, ill set foot to this place! πŸ™‚ kudos sir! πŸ˜€

  14. Wow. Wonderful./ Pangarap ko makapunta dyan. ANg ganda. Sobra! πŸ™‚

  15. beautiful sunrise indeed. Great shot.

  16. Ang ganda ng sunrise! πŸ™‚

  17. wow! amazing! i wish to go to wonderful places around the world! thanks for sharing us great pictures and have a blessed adventure this year 2012 βœΏβ—•β€Ώβ—•βœΏ

    • thanks po for your generous comment and the best wishes for my 2012. I know God will lead me to where my heart finds peace again. salamat din po for appreciating the places I had been to and the photos I took.

      Happy New Year 2012 to you too and more blessings to share.

  18. Very nice photos! I’m a sucker for sun shots!

  19. Wow ang ganda nga ng sunrise. Sana makapunta din ako jan, not just for sunrise kasi kahit naman dito sa pinas meron nyan hehe but for travel and experience πŸ™‚

  20. super nice pictures. I guess you are blessed and no reason for you to be weary and sad. You’re so lucky to have the means to go to these beautiful places. Cheer up. God Loves You.

  21. Wow! Such a beautiful place. Places like this refreshes the soul

  22. What is a “perfect sunrise”? I don’t have any sense of measuring a sunrise to its perfection. Probably we could say that a sunrise is perfect because we’ve a good night sleep. Our body is reinvigorated, revitalized. The people around us as we wake up are all smiles. Everybody around us is peaceful, calm and no noise, no disruption! To sum them all, we have a happy and contented life as we see the sun rises for another day! That’s how I look at a “perfect sunrise”

    • Thanks po for sharing your definition of a perfect sunrise. You had a good Webster definition on it. Don’t worry, we share the same save for the semantics I used here to describe what I felt.

      Happy New Year to you po

  23. im suppose to ask where is it but I saw u already answered another comment. never been to Cambodia but after seeing ur pics I want to go there!

  24. Keep on blogging and follow your heart where it leads you.

    God Bless!

    how great thou art

    – FranCis

  25. masarap mag travel, sometimes i ask myself kung bakit di ko naisip yan nuon pa hehe. travelling is now in my bucket list. πŸ™‚

    • Ning super saya nga po magtravel. You will enjoy it and it will be a life you will ever get to appreciate other people and how they live daily. Wishing you everything in your future plans.

  26. I wish I could see those beautiful shots in full resolution, I guess, it would be a perfect desktop background! As always, you bring us to places we’ve never been before! God bless, Dr.Wends! =)

  27. why did you say the most perfect sunrise nga pala? you mean ang ibang place walang gnayan kagnadang view at talagang dinadayo ng mga tourist ang place.Ang ganda ng reflection ng view sa tubig dahi lsa sunrise.nice photos

    • this is the most vantage point of all Angkor complex for a perfect sunrise/sunset shots of mostly travelers going there, including me.

      I say it is the most perfect sunrise kasi I have had been to other places but never came to this most calm and reflective sunrise.

      Salamat sa comment Tess. God bless you. Happy New Year

  28. What a breathtaking sight it must have been. Appreciating the beauty our world, that is what you are doing and I will hopefully get in a stage where I too can travel and see the world for all that it can offer πŸ™‚

    ____
    Much love, Christia

    My 7 New Year Resolutions from 2012 from Christia’s World

  29. I also love watching the sunrise as well as the sunset !!
    It relaxes me and give me a rest.
    The photos are beautiful , as it is in reality.

  30. there are a lot of perfect moments in our lives. These seem to be one of them πŸ˜€

  31. Great shots…I’m happy for you. Happy that you felt (not just see) the sunrise. πŸ™‚

  32. i’ve been to the angkor wat way back in 2008. i’ve been mezmerized by the beauty and greatness of it all. i wish i could go back again… great sunrise photos. truly perfect ^_^

  33. Iba talaga ang charm ng Angkor

  34. Wow, just wow. The pictures are amazing, how much more the experience? On my Day Zero list is to watch the sunrise and sunset on the same day… I hope that happens on a perfect day this year!

  35. Pingback: Cambodia, the all inclusive cheapest holiday « Journeys and Travels

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

