Travels 230: Embracing Preah Barum Reachea Veang Chaktomuk

The Kingdom of Cambodia is one destination I have on my mind since I and the King Father, His Majesty King Norodom Sihanouk has been exchanging correspondence (letters) since 1996. I have had the honor to have known the King who exemplifies the most humble of all leaders around the world whom I corresponded with. The first time I saw about the Preah Barum Reachea Veang Chaktomuk was on the gift given to on my birthday by His Majesty the King. I was, at that time, so primed up with my ideals of the world that a book entirely dedicated about the Royal Palace of Phnom Penh is a welcome respite and excitement.

My arrival at the Phnom Penh on Christmas Eve was a great opportunity to absorbed for myself and my own humanity the beauty it provided to me as a young man whom the King Father corresponded regularly. I went to visit the Royal Palace named Preah Barum Reachea Veang Chaktomuk in Khmer with much anticipated joy.

I and my Cambodian friends were getting through the palace grounds and appreciating what rare Khmer architecture has to offer. The Preah Barum Reachea Veang Chaktomuk was built in 1860 and has served as the Royal residence of all Cambodian Kings since King Norodom who transferred the royal capitol to Phnom Penh from Oudong.

With the help of my Cambodian friends, I was whisked off from the entrance with foreign tourists milling around for tickets. My two Cambodian sisters who happened to worked at the Ministry of Trade and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Cambodia paid for the tickets into the Palace so off I went with just less than 5 minutes of milling around at the farthest end of the line.

My experience at the visit to the Royal Palace of Phnom Penh is one that gives me reflections of how grand and royal Cambodia is and its lovely people. The Preah Barum Reachea Veang Chaktomuk is located near the Preah Sisovath Boulevard. While inside the Royal Palace, I met some monks whom I asked for an opportunity to share insights and a good photograph which they generously agreed.

A wonderful reflective experience was gained in my visit to the Preah Barum Reachea Veang Chaktomuk, one that will be a lifetime experience to share and to hold.

Categories: Cambodia, Phnom Penh | Tags: , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Travels 230: Embracing Preah Barum Reachea Veang Chaktomuk

  1. Great photographs Doc and a captivating narrative. Hope you meet the King of Cambodia in person next time, or did you meet him during your trip?

    • was told by the Royal Household that the Kind father has another schedule while I was in Phnom Penh. My opportunity to be at the palace is more than enough Marky and the letters which I still kept are one of those that constantly reminded me of our friendship through the years.

      salamat sa comment marky. God bless

  2. The pictures says so much story! Life captured in photographs. I really like the pictures with the monks. I would love to see real monks someday. I’ll ask if they know kungfu :))

  3. wow! what a great place kuya! will die just to go there and walk the paths where their royalty walked through the ages! magdadala aq ng 5 photographer at mga PA mkpag photoshoot lang dyan! haha

    • It is the best place one can be in Phnom Penh while you are in Cambodia ading ko. Ganda ng lugar, malawak ang lawn ng palace and here is where I saw the golden Buddha with diamonds.

  4. Cambodia has an amazing culture. Glad you experienced it fully Sir.
    Also, like Marky said, amazing photographs!!

    I remember when you were having apprehensions about going to this trip– isn’t it worth it that you pushed through?? 😀

    Hope to see you soon Sir! 😀

    • Lauren it was and remains a full satisfaction for me to really pursue the trip. I am grateful sa comment neo po.

      Yes of course, I hope to see you soon too.

      Salamat sa pag-appreciate ng photo ko.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

