Western Market in Hong Kong tells me a story

The 1844 Western Market in Sheung Wan, Hong Kong

On one of my lonesome jaunt to find the off-the-beaten tracks in Hong Kong, I took the MTR from the Central Station and proceeded to Sheung Wan station. As I managed my way to the cool alleyways of Hong Kong, the Western Market came into view. An impressive four-storey building made architecturally in Edwardian Style beckons like a welcoming respite from the usual high-rise skyscrapers very much present in the City-state.

The Western Market was built in September 1844 and the south block was demolished in 1981 leaving the North Block being renovated and converted into what is it now famous for. Built with brickworks on its four corner towers in a “bandage” style appears polychromatic. 

The impressive and historic Western Market of Hong Kong

Hong Kong’s impressive past, Western Market

The main entrance to the many cafes and shops of the Western Market

When I saw the Western Market, I was silently transporting myself to the olden 1844’s when it is in its heyday. Hong Kong then was not as chaotic as today but impressive already, both in trade and people’s choices. I ask: what could have been the life of ordinary Chinese and westerners be when they first unveiled this impressive building? As I pondered on it across the street, I took snapshots where I can continually reflect and learn more about its historic rise.

It is also focal in the study of Hong Kong today to learn more about its past and the Western Market is one of the best starter. Safely nestled in Sheung Wan, the structure permanently reminds its residents of how it was in 1844, how life was less complicated yet fulfilling already. I have come to also believed that the Western Market is one of the finest olden structures across Hong Kong. Undisputedly, I am impressed and awe-struck by its mammoth history and how it plays today.

The modernity of Hong Kong’s tram in contrast with the solid historic past of Western Market, simply amazing

Categories: Hong Kong | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

