Photo Sunday: the flowers of Calasiao

the flowers of Calasiao, in Pangasinan

As I was in Pangasinan for a jaunt with my travel blogger friends, we checked on the famed historical Parish Church of Saints Peter and Paul in Calasiao and I am forever impressed. As I was walking towards the front lawn of the church, I chanced upon a pious man delivering some fresh flowers to be offered in the altar inside the church. I smiled at the chanced moments to capture its rich history and the future it beholds to the present day.

To me, the flower represents an optimistic future as well as the present, where life is celebrated in its utmost simplicity and of course, vulnerability. Placed in the rich cultural heritage of Calasiao, the flowers I saw forever itch in my memory of an impassioned struggle to freedom from the colonizing clutches of Spain though in the past, but widely felt in the present.

Categories: Calasiao, Pangasinan, Photo Sunday, Photoblog | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

